Foursquare

Now, I’ve never heard of this site before, but there’s a city-wide competition to utilise it and TAG all the best places around. I’m certainly not one to shy away from a challenge (and prizemoney), so I thought I’d give it a try.

As you can see from the video, the basic idea is to build a “tourist-attraction database” that you’re ‘friends’ rate and review. Although it stays away from the whole social side of Facebook, it does require that you have an account there before scanning all your friends to find the ones that are using Foursquare already.

Will it work? Well it has been very strategically planned. The Facebook connection is a major clincher that will slowly spread through Friends to reach its critical mass. The other major thing that is has going for it is the fact that it operates through Smartphones. I mean, imagine you’re in a bar and you get a message with “12 friends have been in this place before you. What rating would you give it?”; you’d certainly be tempted to quickly give it the rating it needs.

Of course, I’ve no idea of how this thing will work; I’ve only just signed up and I won’t be able to download the app until tomorrow. I’ll keep you all posted though as I discover the pros and cons of the system. 15 million others are using it; how bad could it be!?

Leave a Reply

